Westbourne Grammar School has a long and rich history dating back to 1867 and is proudly celebrating its Sesquicentenary in 2017.
Highlights of our history include:
- In 1867 the Williamstown Borough Council contributed to the building of the School, and the School’s constitution was such that the Council retained a large measure of control over the School until the time of the First World War. The School was built on the current location of Williamstown High School.
- In 1914 the School buildings and grounds were handed over to the Education Department for conversion to use as a High School. That same year one of the teachers, Miss Mabel Molland, took the Junior pupils with her and continued the School as a Preparatory Grammar School , firstly in the Welsh Church Hall then, for 40 years in Trinity Hall at the rear of Williamstown’s Anglican Church.
- The School moved to its current location on The Strand in 1956 and Miss Molland continued in charge until her retirement in 1963.
- Most of Melbourne’s small, private community schools ceased to exist many decades earlier. In all, Miss Molland served the School for 52 years, including 49 years as Principal.
- Mr John Pascoe took over as Principal in 1976. In 1978 he established a Secondary School at Hoppers Crossing - Westbourne Grammar School.
- After Mr Pascoe’s retirement, Mr Geoffrey Ryan was appointed Principal, a position he held until mid-2010.
- Ms Meg Hansen was appointed as Principal in mid-2010 and currently heads the School with an enrolment of 1,500 students.
- The new Horsburgh Centre opened in 2013 housing Year 7 and LOTE studies at the Truganina Campus.